top of page

10 Questions to ask your vet


1. Is my dog the target weight and is my food appropriate?

Do remember, vets tend to tread carefully so as not to upset the owners, many dogs are very overweight and the vet tentatively says they could do with losing a few pound! They are more likely to tell you if your dog is underweight, but in fact you can be doing more damage if they are overweight. Do your homework, what should your dog weigh?

2. What should I do differently with my dog?

Should you exercise them more or less, feed them a supplement, change their routine

3. Do they really need those drugs for that issue, what are the side effects and are there any herbal supplements I could give to help my dog?

I have many clients have saved money and improved dogs health by feeding herbal supplements sometimes alongside a veterinary approved lesser dose of the prescribed medication

4. What should I do the night before/morning of the surgery? What should I do to get them ready for surgery?

Any time they are anesthetized, they will need to be fasted before. Do they need any medication before?

5. How often should I give the medicine and what will it do for my dog? What happens if I miss a dose or two? How long should it be on the medication?

Some medications do not work if you miss a dose, and you need to start again, others are fine.

6. Are you sponsored by that company you advised me to use?

Veterinary Practices are often sponsored by a company, such as Hills, they then sell their products, is that really the right food for you?

7. How often does my dog need boosters and what flea, tick and wormer medication should you use?

Again, do your homework, ask to see what they are getting, some boosters are not needed as frequently as they are given and there has been links to other health problems and some flea and wormer treatments do not work.

8.Is this behaviour, lump or reaction normal?

Like us, dogs can sneeze and it might be a tickle, but too often and it could mean a health issue.Lumps can just be fatty lumps that many elderly animals get or they could be something nasty. Unusual aggression can be saying they do not feel well.

9. Should I get a second opinion?

If your vets’ diagnosis does not feel right to you, ask if you should get a second opinion. Vets work to the best of their experience & knowledge, but maybe this is something they have never seen before, your vet should not feel threatened by this.

10. What should I do between now and the next visit?

Is there anything they would advise you to do before you return? Act on this and try to get improvements for when you return.

TLC Dog Walking

0 views0 comments
bottom of page